December 15, 2017

Trey Anastasio: gear overhaul for NYE run

Phish is preparing for four nights at Madison Square Garden in New York for their annual NYE run. Guitarist Trey Anastasio will be using some new toys as part of a complete overhaul of his set-up. The gear heads at Trey Anastasio's Guitar Equipment have a complete rundown of the cahnges:

The good folks at Custom Audio Electronics, newly relocated in Rock Lititz, PA, released some photos of their rebuild of Trey’s rig in advance of the MSG NYE shows, and it was truly a complete overhaul. The entire midi-switching core of Trey’s rig is brand new, new pedals are in play, and old favorites have returned.


December 14, 2017

Carey Frank: Something to Remember Him By

Jazz organ and melodica player Carey Frank pays tribute to his musical ancestry on his new album Something to Remember Him By. Working closely with guitarist Bruce Forman the record is a reinvention of crooner classics and smooth jazz. Frank's grandfather Don Cornell was was a singer, and he saw him perform many times as a kid. He inherited his 1938 Gibson L5 and that is the guitar that still sounds great in the capable hands of Forman.

Many of these songs have been downgraded to muzak nowadays, but Frank and Forman play them with a deep understanding and finesse. Highlights are the melancholic September Song and the gently swinging I Remember You. The sole original is Iris Iris, named after hit grandmother. It is an elegant duet for organ and guitar, during which the players take turns at playing lead.

December 13, 2017

Hayseed Dixie: European tour dates

Rock grass quartet Hayseed Dixie taker their good times music to Europe again. Lots of irreverent covers plus not half bad originals.

Umphrey's McGee: Half Delayed

Jam band Umphrey's McGee have posted lyrics video for Half Delayed, a track from their 11th studio album It’s Not Us scheduled for release on January 12th. Prog guitars galore and am ad rather unexpected fade-out that suggests that there could have been an interesting coda.

December 12, 2017

Daniel Ruiz: A Cup Of Coffee With Two Sugar Cubes, Cream, And A Tiny Drop Of Whiskey

For his new slice of psychedelic pop Barcelona based musician Daniel Ruiz dropped his alias Weinf. A Cup Of Coffee With Two Sugar Cubes, Cream, And A Tiny Drop Of Whiskey hints a Tom Waits and Jacco Gardner.

The protagonist reminisces about a girl who used to know when he sets eyes on a woman who orders the exact same drink. He sits inside the cafe and she is on the terrace. They are separated by the window, close but miles apart. He knows it's not her, but he surely wishes it was.